Page archived courtesy of the Geocities Archive Project
Please help us spread the word by liking or sharing the Facebook link below :-)

Zoo, The

Band members               Related acts

- Murphy Carfagna - rhythm guitar (1966-68)
- Mike Flicker - drums (1966-68)
- Terry Gottlieb - bass (1966-68)
- Howard Leese - lead guitar (1966-68)
- Ira Welsley - vocals (1966-68)



- Heart (Howard Leese)


Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  The Zoo Presents Chocolate Moose

Company: Sunburst

Catalog: 7500

Year: 1969

Grade (cover/record): VG/VG+

Comments: minor ring and edge wear; small drill hole through middle of LP

Available: 1

Price: $150.00


Yeah - another one we don't know much about ... 

With a lineup consisting of rhythm guitarist Murphy Carfagna, drummer Mike Flicker, bassist Terry Gottlieb, lead guitarist Howard Leese and singer Ira Wesley these guys apparently formed in the mid-'60s kicking around for a couple of years. 1966 saw them release an instantly obscure single for the small PKC label ("Gonna Miss Me" b/w "Sometimes"), followed by an equally obscure effort for Cameo/Parkway ("She Said She Said/Goodbye Sunshine" b/w "Where Have All the Good Times Gone").

Under the tutelage of Mike Cobb, 1968 found the band signed to Cobb's own Sunburst label. A single "Subset Strip" b/w "One Night Man" did little commercially, but attracted the attention of Bell Records which subsequently agreed to finance an LP. Produced by Cobb (who also contributed several songs), 1968's "The Zoo Presents Chocolate Moose" served as an interesting debut. With all five members contributing material, the set was rather varied. Straddling genres, "Chocolate Moose" offered up a distinctive garage influence; "Get Some Beads" and "From a Camel's Hump" found the band taking a stab at lightweight psych, while "Soul Drippin's" showcased a penchant for blue-eyed soul. While you couldn't really consider them artistic innovators, the collection's still worth hearing. The collection sold poorly; the band subsequently calling it quits. (Always liked the Bob Zoel designed cover.) (In 1993 the English Big Beat label reissued the set - catalog number WIKM-123.)

"The Zoo Presents Chocolate Moose" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Chocolate Moose (Murphy Carfagna - Mike Flicker - Terry Gottlieb - Howard Leese - Ira Welsley) - 2:36
2.) Written On the Wind (Ed Cobb)- 2:17
3.) I've Been Waiting Too Long (Mike Flicker - Howard Leese) - 2:19
4.) Soul Drippin's (Dick Monda) - 1:51
5.) Get Some Beads (Joey Levine - M. Bellack - E. Kahn) - 1:59

(side 2)

1.) Ain't Nobody (Carolyn Franklin) - 2:07
2.) Try Me (Joey Levine) - 2:09
3.) Love Machine (J. Griffin - M. Gordon) - 2:25
4.) Have You Been Sleepin' (Mike Flicker - Howard Leese) - 2:20
5.) From a Camel's Hump (Mike Flicker - Howard Leese) - 2:50

In the mid-'80s Leese reappeared as a member of Heart, while Flicker turned his attention to production (see separate entry).


Back to Bad Cat search

Want to buy this LP from BadCat Records - click here